Personal Lists featuring...

89 mm from Europe 1993


List of Nominees and Winners.

  • Actor in a Leading Role

Morgan Freeman in "The Shawshank Redemption"
Tom Hanks in "Forrest Gump" - WINNER
Nigel Hawthorne in "The Madness of King George"
Paul Newman in "Nobody’s Fool"
John Travolta in "Pulp Fiction"

  • Actor in a Supporting Role

Samuel L. Jackson in "Pulp Fiction"
Martin Landau in "Ed Wood" - WINNER
Chazz Palminteri in "Bullets over Broadway"
Paul Scofield in "Quiz Show"
Gary Sinise in "Forrest Gump"

  • Actress in a Leading Role

Jodie Foster in "Nell"
Jessica Lange in "Blue Sky" - WINNER
Miranda Richardson in "Tom & Viv"
Winona Ryder in "Little Women"
Susan Sarandon in "The Client"

  • Actress in a Supporting Role

Rosemary Harris in "Tom & Viv"
Helen Mirren in "The Madness of King George"
Uma Thurman in "Pulp Fiction"
Jennifer Tilly in "Bullets over Broadway"
Dianne Wiest in "Bullets over Broadway" - WINNER

  • Art Direction

"Bullets over Broadway" Art Direction: Santo Loquasto; Set Decoration: Susan Bode
"Forrest Gump" Art Direction: Rick Carter; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh
"Interview with the Vampire" Art Direction: Dante Ferretti; Set Decoration: Francesca Lo Schiavo
"Legends of the Fall" Art Direction: Lilly Kilvert; Set Decoration: Dorree Cooper
"The Madness of King George" Art Direction: Ken Adam; Set Decoration: Carolyn Scott - WINNER

  • Cinematography

"Forrest Gump" Don Burgess
"Legends of the Fall" John Toll - WINNER
"Red" Piotr Sobocinski
"The Shawshank Redemption" Roger Deakins
"Wyatt Earp" Owen Roizman

  • Costume Design

"The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert" Lizzy Gardiner, Tim Chappel - WINNER
"Bullets over Broadway" Jeffrey Kurland
"Little Women" Colleen Atwood
"Maverick" April Ferry
"Queen Margot" Moidele Bickel

  • Directing

"Bullets over Broadway" Woody Allen
"Forrest Gump" Robert Zemeckis - WINNER
"Pulp Fiction" Quentin Tarantino
"Quiz Show" Robert Redford
"Red" Krzysztof Kieslowski

  • Documentary (Feature)

"Complaints of a Dutiful Daughter" Deborah Hoffmann
"D-Day Remembered" Charles Guggenheim
"Freedom on My Mind" Connie Field, Marilyn Mulford
"A Great Day in Harlem" Jean Bach
"Maya Lin: A Strong Clear Vision" Freida Lee Mock, Terry Sanders - WINNER

  • Documentary (Short Subject)

"Blues Highway" Vince DiPersio, Bill Guttentag
"89mm od Europy (89mm from Europe)" Marcel Lozinski
"School of the Americas Assassins" Robert Richter
"Straight from the Heart" Dee Mosbacher, Frances Reid
"A Time for Justice" Charles Guggenheim - WINNER

  • Film Editing

"Forrest Gump" Arthur Schmidt - WINNER
"Hoop Dreams" Frederick Marx, Steve James, Bill Haugse
"Pulp Fiction" Sally Menke
"The Shawshank Redemption" Richard Francis-Bruce
"Speed" John Wright

  • Foreign Language Film

"Before the Rain" The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
"Burnt by the Sun" Russia - WINNER
"Eat Drink Man Woman" Taiwan
"Farinelli: Il Castrato" Belgium
"Strawberry and Chocolate" Cuba

  • Makeup

"Ed Wood" Rick Baker, Ve Neill, Yolanda Toussieng - WINNER
"Forrest Gump" Daniel C. Striepeke, Hallie D’Amore, Judith A. Cory
"Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein" Daniel Parker, Paul Engelen, Carol Hemming

  • Music (Original Score)

"Forrest Gump" Alan Silvestri
"Interview with the Vampire" Elliot Goldenthal
"The Lion King" Hans Zimmer - WINNER
"Little Women" Thomas Newman
"The Shawshank Redemption" Thomas Newman

  • Music (Original Song)

"Can You Feel the Love Tonight" from "The Lion King" Music by Elton John; Lyric by Tim Rice - WINNER
"Circle of Life" from "The Lion King" Music by Elton John; Lyric by Tim Rice
"Hakuna Matata" from "The Lion King" Music by Elton John; Lyric by Tim Rice
"Look What Love Has Done" from "Junior" Music and Lyric by Carole Bayer Sager, James Newton Howard, James Ingram and Patty Smyth
"Make Up Your Mind" from "The Paper" Music and Lyric by Randy Newman

  • Best Picture

"Forrest Gump" Wendy Finerman, Steve Tisch and Steve Starkey, Producers - WINNER
"Four Weddings and a Funeral" Duncan Kenworthy, Producer
"Pulp Fiction" Lawrence Bender, Producer
"Quiz Show" Robert Redford, Michael Jacobs, Julian Krainin and Michael Nozik, Producers
"The Shawshank Redemption" Niki Marvin, Producer

  • Short Film (Animated)

"The Big Story" Tim Watts, David Stoten
"Bob’s Birthday" Alison Snowden, David Fine - WINNER
"The Janitor" Vanessa Schwartz
"The Monk and the Fish" Michael Dudok de Wit
"Triangle" Erica Russell

  • Short Film (Live Action)

"Franz Kafka’s It’s a Wonderful Life" Peter Capaldi, Ruth Kenley- Letts - WINNER
"Kangaroo Court" Sean Astin, Christine Astin
"On Hope" JoBeth Williams, Michele McGuire
"Syrup" Paul Unwin, Nick Vivian
"Trevor" Peggy Rajski, Randy Stone - WINNER

  • Sound

"Clear and Present Danger" Donald O. Mitchell, Michael Herbick, Frank A. Montaño, Arthur Rochester
"Forrest Gump" Randy Thom, Tom Johnson, Dennis Sands, William B. Kaplan
"Legends of the Fall" Paul Massey, David Campbell, Christopher David, Douglas Ganton
"The Shawshank Redemption" Robert J. Litt, Elliot Tyson, Michael Herbick, Willie Burton
"Speed" Gregg Landaker, Steve Maslow, Bob Beemer, David R. B. MacMillan - WINNER

  • Sound Effects Editing

"Clear and Present Danger" Bruce Stambler, John Leveque
"Forrest Gump" Gloria S. Borders, Randy Thom
"Speed" Stephen Hunter Flick - WINNER

  • Visual Effects

"Forrest Gump" Ken Ralston, George Murphy, Stephen Rosenbaum, Allen Hall - WINNER
"The Mask" Scott Squires, Steve Williams, Tom Bertino, Jon Farhat
"True Lies" John Bruno, Thomas L. Fisher, Jacques Stroweis, Patrick McClung

  • Writing (Screenplay Based on Material Previously Produced or Published)

"Forrest Gump" Eric Roth - WINNER
"The Madness of King George" Alan Bennett
"Nobody’s Fool" Robert Benton
"Quiz Show" Paul Attanasio
"The Shawshank Redemption" Frank Darabont

  • Writing (Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen)

"Bullets over Broadway" Woody Allen, Douglas McGrath
"Four Weddings and a Funeral" Richard Curtis
"Heavenly Creatures" Frances Walsh, Peter Jackson
"Pulp Fiction" Screenplay by Quentin Tarantino; Stories by Quentin Tarantino and Roger Avary - WINNER
"Red" Krzysztof Piesiewicz, Krzysztof Kieslowski