Personal Lists featuring...

Kudzu 1977


List of Nominees and Winners.

  • Actor in a Leading Role

Robert De Niro in "Taxi Driver"
Peter Finch in "Network" - WINNER
Giancarlo Giannini in "Seven Beauties"
William Holden in "Network"
Sylvester Stallone in "Rocky"

  • Actor in a Supporting Role

Ned Beatty in "Network"
Burgess Meredith in "Rocky"
Laurence Olivier in "Marathon Man"
Jason Robards in "All the President’s Men" - WINNER
Burt Young in "Rocky"

  • Actress in a Leading Role

Marie-Christine Barrault in "Cousin, Cousine"
Faye Dunaway in "Network" - WINNER
Talia Shire in "Rocky"
Sissy Spacek in "Carrie"
Liv Ullmann in "Face to Face"

  • Actress in a Supporting Role

Jane Alexander in "All the President’s Men"
Jodie Foster in "Taxi Driver"
Lee Grant in "Voyage of the Damned"
Piper Laurie in "Carrie"
Beatrice Straight in "Network" - WINNER

  • Art Direction

"All the President’s Men" Art Direction: George Jenkins; Set Decoration: George Gaines - WINNER
"The Incredible Sarah" Art Direction: Elliot Scott, Norman Reynolds; Set Decoration: Peter Howitt
"The Last Tycoon" Art Direction: Gene Callahan, Jack Collis; Set Decoration: Jerry Wunderlich
"Logan’s Run" Art Direction: Dale Hennesy; Set Decoration: Robert de Vestel
"The Shootist" Art Direction: Robert F. Boyle; Set Decoration: Arthur Jeph Parker

  • Cinematography

"Bound for Glory" Haskell Wexler - WINNER
"King Kong" Richard H. Kline
"Logan’s Run" Ernest Laszlo
"Network" Owen Roizman
"A Star Is Born" Robert Surtees

  • Costume Design

"Bound for Glory" William Theiss
"Fellini’s Casanova" Danilo Donati - WINNER
"The Incredible Sarah" Anthony Mendleson
"The Passover Plot" Mary Wills
"The Seven-per-cent Solution" Alan Barrett

  • Directing

"All the President’s Men" Alan J. Pakula
"Face to Face" Ingmar Bergman
"Network" Sidney Lumet
"Rocky" John G. Avildsen - WINNER
"Seven Beauties" Lina Wertmüller

  • Documentary (Feature)

"Harlan County, U.S.A." Barbara Kopple, Producer - WINNER
"Hollywood on Trial" James Gutman and David Helpern, Jr., Producers
"Off the Edge" Michael Firth, Producer
"People of the Wind" Anthony Howarth and David Koff, Producers
"Volcano: An Inquiry into the Life and Death of Malcolm Lowry" Donald Brittain and Robert Duncan, Producers

  • Documentary (Short Subject)

"American Shoeshine" Sparky Greene, Producer
"Blackwood" Tony Ianzelo and Andy Thomson, Producers
"The End of the Road" John Armstrong, Producer
"Number Our Days" Lynne Littman, Producer - WINNER
"Universe" Lester Novros, Producer

  • Film Editing

"All the President’s Men" Robert L. Wolfe
"Bound for Glory" Robert Jones, Pembroke J. Herring
"Network" Alan Heim
"Rocky" Richard Halsey, Scott Conrad - WINNER
"Two-Minute Warning" Eve Newman, Walter Hannemann

  • Foreign Language Film

"Black and White in Color" Ivory Coast - WINNER
"Cousin, Cousine" France
"Jacob, the Liar" German Democratic Republic
"Nights and Days" Poland
"Seven Beauties" Italy

  • Music (Original Score)

"Obsession" Bernard Herrmann
"The Omen" Jerry Goldsmith - WINNER
"The Outlaw Josey Wales" Jerry Fielding
"Taxi Driver" Bernard Herrmann
"Voyage of the Damned" Lalo Schifrin

  • Music (Original Song Score and Its Adaptation or Adaptation Score)

"Bound for Glory" Adaptation Score by Leonard Rosenman - WINNER
"Bugsy Malone" Song Score and Adaptation Score by Paul Williams
"A Star Is Born" Adaptation Score by Roger Kellaway

  • Music (Original Song)

"Ave Satani" from "The Omen" Music and Lyrics by Jerry Goldsmith
"Come to Me" from "The Pink Panther Strikes Again" Music by Henry Mancini; Lyrics by Don Black
"Evergreen (Love Theme from A Star Is Born)" from "A Star Is Born" Music by Barbra Streisand; Lyrics by Paul Williams - WINNER
"Gonna Fly Now" from "Rocky" Music by Bill Conti; Lyrics by Carol Connors and Ayn Robbins
"A World That Never Was" from "Half a House" Music by Sammy Fain; Lyrics by Paul Francis Webster

  • Best Picture

"All the President’s Men" Walter Coblenz, Producer
"Bound for Glory" Robert F. Blumofe and Harold Leventhal, Producers
"Network" Howard Gottfried, Producer
"Rocky" Irwin Winkler and Robert Chartoff, Producers - WINNER
"Taxi Driver" Michael Phillips and Julia Phillips, Producers

  • Short Film (Animated)

"Dedalo" Manfredo Manfredi, Producer
"Leisure" Suzanne Baker, Producer - WINNER
"The Street" Caroline Leaf and Guy Glover, Producers

  • Short Film (Live Action)

"In the Region of Ice" Andre Guttfreund and Peter Werner, Producers - WINNER
"Kudzu" Marjorie Anne Short, Producer
"The Morning Spider" Julian Chagrin and Claude Chagrin, Producers
"Nightlife" Claire Wilbur and Robin Lehman, Producers
"Number One" Dyan Cannon and Vince Cannon, Producers

  • Sound

"All the President’s Men" Arthur Piantadosi, Les Fresholtz, Dick Alexander, Jim Webb - WINNER
"King Kong" Harry Warren Tetrick, William McCaughey, Aaron Rochin, Jack Solomon
"Rocky" Harry Warren Tetrick, William McCaughey, Lyle Burbridge, Bud Alper
"Silver Streak" Donald Mitchell, Douglas Williams, Richard Tyler, Hal Etherington
"A Star Is Born" Robert Knudson, Dan Wallin, Robert Glass, Tom Overton

  • Writing (Screenplay–based on material from another medium)

"All the President’s Men" William Goldman - WINNER
"Bound for Glory" Robert Getchell
"Fellini’s Casanova" Federico Fellini, Bernardino Zapponi
"The Seven-per-cent Solution" Nicholas Meyer
"Voyage of the Damned" Steve Shagan, David Butler

  • Writing (Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen–based on factual material or on story material not previously published or produced)

"Cousin, Cousine" Story and Screenplay by Jean-Charles Tacchella; Adaptation by Daniele Thompson
"The Front" Walter Bernstein
"Network" Paddy Chayefsky - WINNER
"Rocky" Sylvester Stallone
"Seven Beauties" Lina Wertmüller