Personal Lists featuring...

Maestro 2005


List of Nominees and Winners.

  • Actor in a Leading Role

Leonardo DiCaprio in "Blood Diamond"
Ryan Gosling in "Half Nelson"
Peter O’Toole in "Venus"
Will Smith in "The Pursuit of Happyness"
Forest Whitaker in "The Last King of Scotland" - WINNER

  • Actor in a Supporting Role

Alan Arkin in "Little Miss Sunshine" - WINNER
Jackie Earle Haley in "Little Children"
Djimon Hounsou in "Blood Diamond"
Eddie Murphy in "Dreamgirls"
Mark Wahlberg in "The Departed"

  • Actress in a Leading Role

Penélope Cruz in "Volver"
Judi Dench in "Notes on a Scandal"
Helen Mirren in "The Queen" - WINNER
Meryl Streep in "The Devil Wears Prada"
Kate Winslet in "Little Children"

  • Actress in a Supporting Role

Adriana Barraza in "Babel"
Cate Blanchett in "Notes on a Scandal"
Abigail Breslin in "Little Miss Sunshine"
Jennifer Hudson in "Dreamgirls" - WINNER
Rinko Kikuchi in "Babel"

  • Animated Feature Film

"Cars" John Lasseter
"Happy Feet" George Miller - WINNER
"Monster House" Gil Kenan

  • Art Direction

"Dreamgirls" Art Direction: John Myhre; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh
"The Good Shepherd" Art Direction: Jeannine Oppewall; Set Decoration: Gretchen Rau and Leslie E. Rollins
"Pan’s Labyrinth" Art Direction: Eugenio Caballero; Set Decoration: Pilar Revuelta - WINNER
"Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest" Art Direction: Rick Heinrichs; Set Decoration: Cheryl Carasik
"The Prestige" Art Direction: Nathan Crowley; Set Decoration: Julie Ochipinti

  • Cinematography

"The Black Dahlia" Vilmos Zsigmond
"Children of Men" Emmanuel Lubezki
"The Illusionist" Dick Pope
"Pan’s Labyrinth" Guillermo Navarro - WINNER
"The Prestige" Wally Pfister

  • Costume Design

"Curse of the Golden Flower" Yee Chung Man
"The Devil Wears Prada" Patricia Field
"Dreamgirls" Sharen Davis
"Marie Antoinette" Milena Canonero - WINNER
"The Queen" Consolata Boyle

  • Directing

"Babel" Alejandro González Iñárritu
"The Departed" Martin Scorsese - WINNER
"Letters from Iwo Jima" Clint Eastwood
"The Queen" Stephen Frears
"United 93" Paul Greengrass

  • Documentary (Feature)

"Deliver Us from Evil" Amy Berg and Frank Donner
"An Inconvenient Truth" Davis Guggenheim - WINNER
"Iraq in Fragments" James Longley and John Sinno
"Jesus Camp" Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady
"My Country, My Country" Laura Poitras and Jocelyn Glatzer

  • Documentary (Short Subject)

"The Blood of Yingzhou District" Ruby Yang and Thomas Lennon - WINNER
"Recycled Life" Leslie Iwerks and Mike Glad
"Rehearsing a Dream" Karen Goodman and Kirk Simon
"Two Hands" Nathaniel Kahn and Susan Rose Behr

  • Film Editing

"Babel" Stephen Mirrione and Douglas Crise
"Blood Diamond" Steven Rosenblum
"Children of Men" Alex Rodríguez and Alfonso Cuarón
"The Departed" Thelma Schoonmaker - WINNER
"United 93" Clare Douglas, Christopher Rouse and Richard Pearson

  • Foreign Language Film

"After the Wedding" Denmark
"Days of Glory (Indigènes)" Algeria
"The Lives of Others" Germany - WINNER
"Pan’s Labyrinth" Mexico
"Water" Canada

  • Makeup

"Apocalypto" Aldo Signoretti and Vittorio Sodano
"Click" Kazuhiro Tsuji and Bill Corso
"Pan’s Labyrinth" David Martí and Montse Ribé - WINNER

  • Music (Original Score)

"Babel" Gustavo Santaolalla - WINNER
"The Good German" Thomas Newman
"Notes on a Scandal" Philip Glass
"Pan’s Labyrinth" Javier Navarrete
"The Queen" Alexandre Desplat

  • Music (Original Song)

"I Need to Wake Up" from "An Inconvenient Truth" Music and Lyric by Melissa Etheridge - WINNER
"Listen" from "Dreamgirls" Music by Henry Krieger and Scott Cutler; Lyric by Anne Preven
"Love You I Do" from "Dreamgirls" Music by Henry Krieger; Lyric by Siedah Garrett
"Our Town" from "Cars" Music and Lyric by Randy Newman
"Patience" from "Dreamgirls" Music by Henry Krieger; Lyric by Willie Reale

  • Best Picture

"Babel" Alejandro González Iñárritu, Jon Kilik and Steve Golin, Producers
"The Departed" Graham King, Producer - WINNER
"Letters from Iwo Jima" Clint Eastwood, Steven Spielberg and Robert Lorenz, Producers
"Little Miss Sunshine" David T. Friendly, Peter Saraf and Marc Turtletaub, Producers
"The Queen" Andy Harries, Christine Langan and Tracey Seaward, Producers

  • Short Film (Animated)

"The Danish Poet" Torill Kove - WINNER
"Lifted" Gary Rydstrom
"The Little Matchgirl" Roger Allers and Don Hahn
"Maestro" Géza M. Tóth
"No Time for Nuts" Chris Renaud and Michael Thurmeier

  • Short Film (Live Action)

"Binta and the Great Idea (Binta Y La Gran Idea)" Javier Fesser and Luis Manso
"Éramos Pocos (One Too Many)" Borja Cobeaga
"Helmer & Son" Søren Pilmark and Kim Magnusson
"The Saviour" Peter Templeman and Stuart Parkyn
"West Bank Story" Ari Sandel - WINNER

  • Sound Editing

"Apocalypto" Sean McCormack and Kami Asgar
"Blood Diamond" Lon Bender
"Flags of Our Fathers" Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman
"Letters from Iwo Jima" Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman - WINNER
"Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest" Christopher Boyes and George Watters II

  • Sound Mixing

"Apocalypto" Kevin O’Connell, Greg P. Russell and Fernando Cámara
"Blood Diamond" Andy Nelson, Anna Behlmer and Ivan Sharrock
"Dreamgirls" Michael Minkler, Bob Beemer and Willie Burton - WINNER
"Flags of Our Fathers" John Reitz, Dave Campbell, Gregg Rudloff and Walt Martin
"Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest" Paul Massey, Christopher Boyes and Lee Orloff

  • Visual Effects

"Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest" John Knoll, Hal Hickel, Charles Gibson and Allen Hall - WINNER
"Poseidon" Boyd Shermis, Kim Libreri, Chas Jarrett and John Frazier
"Superman Returns" Mark Stetson, Neil Corbould, Richard R. Hoover and Jon Thum

  • Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

"Borat Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan" Screenplay by Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Peter Baynham and Dan Mazer; Story by Sacha Baron Cohen, Peter Baynham, Anthony Hines and Todd Phillips
"Children of Men" Screenplay by Alfonso Cuarón, Timothy J. Sexton, David Arata, Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby
"The Departed" Screenplay by William Monahan - WINNER
"Little Children" Screenplay by Todd Field and Tom Perrotta
"Notes on a Scandal" Screenplay by Patrick Marber

  • Writing (Original Screenplay)

"Babel" Written by Guillermo Arriaga
"Letters from Iwo Jima" Screenplay by Iris Yamashita; Story by Iris Yamashita and Paul Haggis
"Little Miss Sunshine" Written by Michael Arndt - WINNER
"Pan’s Labyrinth" Written by Guillermo del Toro
"The Queen" Written by Peter Morgan