Personal Lists featuring...

My Cousin Vinny 1992


Source: IMDB
Filter: Votes >= 10000
Order: Votes Descending
Date: 2014-08-23


A chronological list of Best Supporting Actress Oscar Winners.


Movies that I genuinely think are masterpieces. Movies that really got me into movies. Movies I loved as a young'un.

Sorted by: Highest average rating on Letterboxd.

Recurring Directors:

4 Movies

Stanley Kubrick , David Fincher

3 Movies

Andrei Tarkovsky , Quentin Tarantino , Peter Jackson, Spike Jonze , Edgar Wright , Christopher Nolan

2 Movies

Martin Scorsese , Billy Wilder , Park Chan-wook , Charlie Chaplin , Roman Polanski , Terry Gilliam , Francis Ford Coppola , Danny Boyle , Darren Aronofsky , Steven Spielberg , Lars von Trier , Damien Chazelle, Stephen Chow, Brad Bird

Movies per decade :

1930s - 2
1940s - 1
1950s - 3
1960s - 6
1970s - 10
1980s - 5
1990s - 15
2000s - 33
2010s - 16

The Greatest of All Time
2001: A Space Odyssey


Best Film Releases of the 90s


List of Nominees and Winners.

  • Actor in a Leading Role

Robert Downey, Jr. in "Chaplin"
Clint Eastwood in "Unforgiven"
Al Pacino in "Scent of a Woman" - WINNER
Stephen Rea in "The Crying Game"
Denzel Washington in "Malcolm X"

  • Actor in a Supporting Role

Jaye Davidson in "The Crying Game"
Gene Hackman in "Unforgiven" - WINNER
Jack Nicholson in "A Few Good Men"
Al Pacino in "Glengarry Glen Ross"
David Paymer in "Mr. Saturday Night"

  • Actress in a Leading Role

Catherine Deneuve in "Indochine"
Mary McDonnell in "Passion Fish"
Michelle Pfeiffer in "Love Field"
Susan Sarandon in "Lorenzo’s Oil"
Emma Thompson in "Howards End" - WINNER

  • Actress in a Supporting Role

Judy Davis in "Husbands and Wives"
Joan Plowright in "Enchanted April"
Vanessa Redgrave in "Howards End"
Miranda Richardson in "Damage"
Marisa Tomei in "My Cousin Vinny" - WINNER

  • Art Direction

"Bram Stoker’s Dracula" Art Direction: Thomas Sanders; Set Decoration: Garrett Lewis
"Chaplin" Art Direction: Stuart Craig; Set Decoration: Chris A. Butler
"Howards End" Art Direction: Luciana Arrighi; Set Decoration: Ian Whittaker - WINNER
"Toys" Art Direction: Ferdinando Scarfiotti; Set Decoration: Linda DeScenna
"Unforgiven" Art Direction: Henry Bumstead; Set Decoration: Janice Blackie-Goodine

  • Cinematography

"Hoffa" Stephen H. Burum
"Howards End" Tony Pierce-Roberts
"The Lover" Robert Fraisse
"A River Runs through It" Philippe Rousselot - WINNER
"Unforgiven" Jack N. Green

  • Costume Design

"Bram Stoker’s Dracula" Eiko Ishioka - WINNER
"Enchanted April" Sheena Napier
"Howards End" Jenny Beavan, John Bright
"Malcolm X" Ruth Carter
"Toys" Albert Wolsky

  • Directing

"The Crying Game" Neil Jordan
"Howards End" James Ivory
"The Player" Robert Altman
"Scent of a Woman" Martin Brest
"Unforgiven" Clint Eastwood - WINNER

  • Documentary (Feature)

"Changing Our Minds: The Story of Dr. Evelyn Hooker" David Haugland, Producer
"Fires of Kuwait" Sally Dundas, Producer
"Liberators: Fighting on Two Fronts in World War II" William Miles and Nina Rosenblum, Producers
"Music for the Movies: Bernard Herrmann" Margaret Smilow and Roma Baran, Producers
"The Panama Deception" Barbara Trent and David Kasper, Producers - WINNER

  • Documentary (Short Subject)

"At the Edge of Conquest: The Journey of Chief Wai-Wai" Geoffrey O’Connor, Producer
"Beyond Imagining: Margaret Anderson and the "Little Review"" Wendy L. Weinberg, Producer
"The Colours of My Father: A Portrait of Sam Borenstein" Richard Elson and Sally Bochner, Producers
"Educating Peter" Thomas C. Goodwin and Gerardine Wurzburg, Producers - WINNER
"When Abortion Was Illegal: Untold Stories" Dorothy Fadiman, Producer

  • Film Editing

"Basic Instinct" Frank J. Urioste
"The Crying Game" Kant Pan
"A Few Good Men" Robert Leighton
"The Player" Geraldine Peroni
"Unforgiven" Joel Cox - WINNER

  • Foreign Language Film

"Close to Eden" Russia
"Daens" Belgium
"Indochine" France - WINNER
"Schtonk!" Germany

  • Makeup

"Batman Returns" Ve Neill, Ronnie Specter, Stan Winston
"Bram Stoker’s Dracula" Greg Cannom, Michèle Burke, Matthew W. Mungle - WINNER
"Hoffa" Ve Neill, Greg Cannom, John Blake

  • Music (Original Score)

"Aladdin" Alan Menken - WINNER
"Basic Instinct" Jerry Goldsmith
"Chaplin" John Barry
"Howards End" Richard Robbins
"A River Runs through It" Mark Isham

  • Music (Original Song)

"Beautiful Maria of My Soul" from "The Mambo Kings" Music by Robert Kraft; Lyric by Arne Glimcher
"Friend Like Me" from "Aladdin" Music by Alan Menken; Lyric by Howard Ashman
"I Have Nothing" from "The Bodyguard" Music by David Foster; Lyric by Linda Thompson
"Run to You" from "The Bodyguard" Music by Jud Friedman; Lyric by Allan Rich
"A Whole New World" from "Aladdin" Music by Alan Menken; Lyric by Tim Rice - WINNER

  • Best Picture

"The Crying Game" Stephen Woolley, Producer
"A Few Good Men" David Brown, Rob Reiner and Andrew Scheinman, Producers
"Howards End" Ismail Merchant, Producer
"Scent of a Woman" Martin Brest, Producer
"Unforgiven" Clint Eastwood, Producer - WINNER

  • Short Film (Animated)

"Adam" Peter Lord
"Mona Lisa Descending a Staircase" Joan C. Gratz - WINNER
"Reci, Reci, Reci... (Words, Words, Words)" Michaela Pavlátová
"The Sandman" Paul Berry
"Screen Play" Barry J.C. Purves

  • Short Film (Live Action)

"Contact" Jonathan Darby, Jana Sue Memel
"Cruise Control" Matt Palmieri
"The Lady in Waiting" Christian M. Taylor
"Omnibus" Sam Karmann - WINNER
"Swan Song" Kenneth Branagh, David Parfitt

  • Sound

"Aladdin" Terry Porter, Mel Metcalfe, David J. Hudson, Doc Kane
"A Few Good Men" Kevin O’Connell, Rick Kline, Bob Eber
"The Last of the Mohicans" Chris Jenkins, Doug Hemphill, Mark Smith, Simon Kaye - WINNER
"Under Siege" Don Mitchell, Frank A. Montaño, Rick Hart, Scott Smith
"Unforgiven" Les Fresholtz, Vern Poore, Dick Alexander, Rob Young

  • Sound Effects Editing

"Aladdin" Mark Mangini
"Bram Stoker’s Dracula" Tom C. McCarthy, David E. Stone - WINNER
"Under Siege" John Leveque, Bruce Stambler

  • Visual Effects

"Alien 3" Richard Edlund, Alec Gillis, Tom Woodruff, Jr., George Gibbs
"Batman Returns" Michael Fink, Craig Barron, John Bruno, Dennis Skotak
"Death Becomes Her" Ken Ralston, Doug Chiang, Doug Smythe, Tom Woodruff, Jr. - WINNER

  • Writing (Screenplay Based on Material Previously Produced or Published)

"Enchanted April" Peter Barnes
"Howards End" Ruth Prawer Jhabvala - WINNER
"The Player" Michael Tolkin
"A River Runs through It" Richard Friedenberg
"Scent of a Woman" Bo Goldman

  • Writing (Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen)

"The Crying Game" Neil Jordan - WINNER
"Husbands and Wives" Woody Allen
"Lorenzo’s Oil" George Miller, Nick Enright
"Passion Fish" John Sayles
"Unforgiven" David Webb Peoples