Personal Lists featuring...

Tsotsi 2005

Advertisement
Hide ads with
VIP
Advertisement
Hide ads with
VIP
1

Every year there are a huge number of movies that fly right under the radar of the average movie fan. movies that are great but just not that well known.

There are plenty of movie gems out there and hopefully this list will help you find some.

Feel free to submit new movies in the comments below.

This list contains movies/documentaries and short films. The list was originally created on IMDb. http://goo.gl/gHles

28

1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die is a film reference book edited by Steven Jay Schneider with original essays on each film contributed by over 70 film critics.

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1001_Movies_You_Must_See_Before_You_Die

6

Movie and TV shows taken from rarbg rss feed every 4 hours starting 5/20/2019. Edit: Added VTS rss feed. Edit 2: Part 2. Some of these will be duplicates from Part 1

27

Original Edition (2003) + additions (2004-2020) in that order. http://1001films.wikia.com/wiki/The_List

2020 Edition Additions:
Avengers: Endgame (2019)
Portrait of a Lady on Fire (Portrait de la jeune fille en feu) (2019)
For Sama (2019)
Booksmart (2019)
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood (2019)
The Farewell (2019)
Joker (2019)
Parasite (2019)
Monos (2019)
Little Women (2019)
The Lighthouse (2019)

5

All the winners in the Best Foreign Language Film category of the Oscars.

List of Academy Award winners and nominees for Best Foreign Language Film: http://bit.ly/2wQC6yx

131

All nominees including the winners of the Honorary Award.

Note: Un lugar en el mundo (1992) was declared ineligible and removed from the final ballot.

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Academy_Award_winners_and_nominees_for_Best_Foreign_Language_Film#Winners_and_nominees

45

All gangster movies worth watching

Advertisement
Hide ads with
VIP
Advertisement
Hide ads with
VIP
13

Academy Award for Best International Feature Film (Winners & Nominees)

41

IMDb's Top Movies from 2005.

Minimum of 25,000 votes, minimum rating of 6.0, maximum of 100 movies.

3

Movies which won the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film since 1947

46

The goal is to watch the best movies from each country.
If you, my imaginary friend, have any suggestions, just leave a comment.

I was planning to watch 193 movies (since there's 193 countries at the UN), but I'll add a few other regions, like Greenland and Aruba, that have different film culture.
Since I have a lot of free time, I might add more than one per country. We'll see.

———————————————♡

1. Afeganistão (Afghanistan)
‧ Kandahar (2001) https://trakt.tv/movies/kandahar-2001
‧ Zolykha's Secret (2006) https://trakt.tv/movies/zolykha-s-secret-2006
Opium War (2008) https://trakt.tv/movies/opium-war-2008
‧ The Black Tulip (2010) https://trakt.tv/movies/the-black-tulip-2012
‧ A Few Cubic Meters of Love (2014) https://trakt.tv/movies/a-few-cubic-meters-of-love-2014
Mina Walking (2015) https://trakt.tv/movies/mina-walking
Emaan (2010) https://trakt.tv/movies/hassan-2018
‧ No Woman (Curta) (2015) https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5181072/
‧ The Boy who Plays on the Buddhas of Bamiyan (Doc) https://trakt.tv/movies/the-boy-who-plays-on-the-buddhas-of-bamiyan-2004
The Beauty Academy of Kabul (2004) https://trakt.tv/movies/the-beauty-academy-of-kabul-1969

2. África do Sul (South Africa)
Khumba (2013) https://trakt.tv/movies/khumba-2013
Tsotsi (2005) https://trakt.tv/movies/tsotsi-2005
‧ Little One (2013) https://trakt.tv/movies/little-one-2013
‧ The Gods Must Be Crazy (1980) https://trakt.tv/movies/the-gods-must-be-crazy-1980
Material (2012) https://trakt.tv/movies/material-2012
Siembamba (2017) https://trakt.tv/movies/the-lullaby-2017
‧ Spud (2010) https://trakt.tv/movies/spud-2010
Keeping Up With the Kandasamys (2019) https://trakt.tv/movies/kandasamys-the-wedding-2019
‧ Vuil Wasgoed (2017) https://trakt.tv/movies/dirty-laundry-2017
Merkat Maantuig (2018) https://trakt.tv/movies/meerkat-moonship-2018
‧ Die Windpomp (2014) https://trakt.tv/movies/the-windmill-2014
Skemerson (2019) https://trakt.tv/movies/sun-cry-moon

3. Albânia
‧ Chromium (2015) https://trakt.tv/movies/chromium-2015
‧ A Shelter Among The Clouds (2018) https://trakt.tv/movies/a-shelter-among-the-clouds-2018
Shtëpia e vjetër (2017) https://trakt.tv/movies/the-old-house-2017
‧ Agon (2011) https://trakt.tv/movies/agon-2012
‧ Amnistia (2011) https://trakt.tv/movies/amnesty-2012
‧ Ballkan Pazar (2011) https://trakt.tv/movies/ballkan-bazar-2011
‧ Pharmakon (2012) https://trakt.tv/movies/pharmakon-2012
‧ Amsterdam Express (2013) https://trakt.tv/movies/amsterdam-express-2014
‧ Bota (2014) https://trakt.tv/movies/bota-2014

4. Alemanha (Germany)
Das Leben der Anderen (2006) https://trakt.tv/movies/the-lives-of-others-2006
‧ Der Himmel über Berlin (1987) https://trakt.tv/movies/wings-of-desire-1987
Systemsprenger (2019) https://trakt.tv/movies/system-crasher-2019
‧ Knockin' on Heaven's Door (1997) https://trakt.tv/movies/knockin-on-heaven-s-door-1997
Good Bye Lenin! (2003) https://trakt.tv/movies/good-bye-lenin-2003
Funny Games (1997) https://trakt.tv/movies/funny-games-1997
‧ Run Lola Run (1998) https://trakt.tv/movies/run-lola-run-1998
Who Am I (2014) https://trakt.tv/movies/who-am-i-2014
Victoria (2015) https://trakt.tv/movies/victoria-2015
Die Welle (2009) https://trakt.tv/movies/the-wave-2008
‧ Fleisch ist mein Gemüse (2008) https://trakt.tv/movies/fleisch-ist-mein-gemuse-2008
‧ Der goldene Handschuh (2019) https://trakt.tv/movies/the-golden-glove-2019
‧ Wir sind die Nacht (2010) https://trakt.tv/movies/we-are-the-night-2010
‧ Hannah Arendt (2012) https://trakt.tv/movies/hannah-arendt-2012
What a Man (2011) https://trakt.tv/movies/what-a-man-2011
‧ Nosferatu (1922) https://trakt.tv/movies/nosferatu-1922
‧ Nosferatu (1979) https://trakt.tv/movies/nosferatu-the-vampyre-1979

5. Andorra
Impacto (2017) https://trakt.tv/movies/impacto
Le Blizzard (Curta) https://trakt.tv/movies/the-blizzard-2019

6. Angola
Serpentarius (2019) https://trakt.tv/movies/serpentarius-2019

7. Arábia Saudita (Saudi Arabia)
Barakah yoqabil Barakah (2016) https://trakt.tv/movies/barakah-meets-barakah-2016
Wadjda (2012) https://trakt.tv/movies/wadjda-2012
Akher Ziyarah (2019) https://trakt.tv/movies/last-visit-2019
‧ Aayesh (2010) https://trakt.tv/movies/aayesh-2010
‧ The Bliss of Being No One (Curta) (2016) https://trakt.tv/movies/the-bliss-of-being-no-one-2016

8. Argélia
‧ =كرنفال في دشرة Carnaval Fi Dachra= (1994) https://trakt.tv/movies/1994-259699
‧ Harragas (2010) https://trakt.tv/movies/harragas-2010
الطاكسي المخفي Le Clandestin (1989) https://trakt.tv/movies/1989-259701
Z (1969) https://trakt.tv/movies/z-1969
Papicha (2019) https://trakt.tv/movies/papicha-2019
À mon âge je me cache encore pour fumer (2016) https://trakt.tv/movies/i-still-hide-to-smoke-2016

‧ NOME (2016) LINK

30

A chronological list of Best Foreign Film Oscar Winners (Including the beginning honorary ones that did not compete with other titles)

23

Contemporary Stage/Novel-to-Film

47

TIFF lacks a jury and is non-competitive; regular awards handed out at other festivals for categories such as "Best Film" or "Best Actress" do not exist at the Toronto International Film Festival. The major prize, the People's Choice Award, is given to a feature-length film with the highest ratings as voted by the TIFF-going populace.

8

1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die is a film reference book edited by Steven Jay Schneider with original essays on each film contributed by over 70 film critics.

Advertisement
Hide ads with
VIP
Advertisement
Hide ads with
VIP
Loading...