• 82%
    267 votes
  • Rate this season
    What did you think?


Season 1 2017

  • 2017-08-11T16:00:00Z on Netflix
  • 30 mins
  • 4 hours, 0 mins (8 episodes)
  • United States
  • English
  • Comedy, Drama, Romance

Sam, an 18-year-old on the autism spectrum, decides it's time to find a girlfriend, a journey that sets Sam's mom on her own life-changing path as her son seeks more independence.


8 episodes

1x01 Antarctica

  • Series Premiere

    2017-08-11T16:00:00Z — 30 mins

Interested in having a girlfriend, Sam researches dating advice and puts it to the test. Meanwhile, his overprotective mom Elsa must learn to let go.

1x02 A Human Female

  • 2017-08-11T16:00:00Z — 30 mins

When Sam learns his crush is already taken, dad Doug helps him woo her. A lost credit card sends Elsa back to the bar. Casey hears rumors about Evan.

1x03 Julia Says

  • 2017-08-11T16:00:00Z — 30 mins

Sam decides to update his look. Casey learns a family secret. Feeling like her family no longer needs her, Elsa seeks attention elsewhere.

1x04 A Nice Neutral Smell

  • 2017-08-11T16:00:00Z — 30 mins

When a classmate shows interest in him, Sam makes a list of pros and cons to see whether she's girlfriend material. Casey gets a prestigious offer.

1x05 That’s My Sweatshirt

  • 2017-08-11T16:00:00Z — 30 mins

Sam becomes rattled after Paige invades his bedroom. Casey visits Clayton Prep and gets a taste of what life away from her brother would be like.

1x06 The D-Train to Bone Town

  • 2017-08-11T16:00:00Z — 30 mins

Paige proposes having an autism-friendly school dance to the PTA. Sam makes preparations for losing his virginity. Doug and Julia help each other.

1x07 I Lost My Poor Meatball

  • 2017-08-11T16:00:00Z — 30 mins

When Paige makes a confession to Sam, he creates a checklist to figure how he feels. Things with Nick suddenly get too real for Elsa.

After a disastrous dinner with Paige's family, Sam makes amends at the school dance. Casey's fury at her mom affects her relationship with Evan.