• 0%
    0 votes
  • Rate this season
    What did you think?
    • 1996-02-17T02:00:00Z on ITV
    • 60 mins
    • 3 hours, 0 mins
    • Drama

    A beautiful young girl raised by her philandering father and resentful stepmother following the death of her real mother must fight for her life when her stepmother turns against her in director David Wheatley's adaptation of author Catherine Cookson's popular novel.Tyne-Tees Television
    1996 3 episodes

    3 episodes

    1x01 Part 1

    • Series Premiere

      1996-02-17T02:00:00Z — 60 mins

    In mid-19th century Yorkshire, Hannah Boyle is left with the family of Matthew Thornton, the man her dying mother claims fathered her. Ill-treated by Thornton's bitter and vindictive wife Anne, who views Hannah only as evidence of her husband's infidelity.

    1x02 Part 2

    • 1996-02-24T02:00:00Z — 60 mins

    Second part of a three part drama set in the 1860s in Northeast England. Matthew Thornton is discovered badly beaten and barely conscious. This event proves to be the turning point in the life of his illegitimate daughter Hannah.

    1x03 Part 3

    • 1996-03-02T02:00:00Z — 60 mins

    Conclusion of the three part historical drama. Hannah has now lost her father, is bullied by her stepmother, and is married off to a man she doesn't love.