• 57%
    4 votes
  • Rate this show
    What did you think?
  • 19
  • 359
  • 241
  • 20

Independent Spirit Awards 1986

  • 2019-01-26T17:00:00-05:00s at 2019-01-26T17:00:00-05:00 on IFC
  • 1986-12-08T00:00:00Z
  • 100 mins
  • 2 days, 7 hours, 0 mins
  • United States
  • Special Interest

The Independent Spirit Awards (originally known as the FINDIE or Friends of Independents Awards), founded in 1984, are awards dedicated to independent filmmakers. Winners were typically presented with acrylic glass pyramids containing suspended shoestrings representing the paltry budgets of independent films. In 1986, the event was renamed the Independent Spirit Awards. The Independent Spirit Awards are presented by Film Independent, a non-profit organization dedicated to independent film and independent filmmakers. In 2007, the ceremony was slightly changed to Film Independent's Spirit Awards. Since 2006, winners have received a trophy depicting a bird sitting atop of a pole with the shoestrings from the previous design wrapped around the pole.

1 season

If you like Independent Spirit Awards, check out...