• 82%
    96 votes
  • Rate this season
    What did you think?
  • 24.0k
  • 160k
  • 201k
  • 54


Season 1 2016

  • 2016-10-10T02:30:00Z on HBO
  • 30 mins
  • 3 hours, 58 mins (8 episodes)
  • United States
  • English
  • Comedy, Drama

Follows the awkward experiences and racy tribulations of a modern-day African-American woman. Issa and Molly, these best friends must deal with their own real-life flaws as they attempt to navigate different worlds and cope with an endless series of uncomfortable everyday experiences.

8 episodes

1x01 Insecure as Fuck

  • Series Premiere

    2016-10-10T02:30:00Z — 29 mins

In the wake of her 29th birthday, Issa Dee reconsiders her dead-end relationship with Lawrence, her live-in boyfriend. Meanwhile, Issa’s best friend, Molly, mourns her singledom and the state of her “lady parts.” Later, Issa uses an open-mic night as an excuse to reconnect with an ex.

1x02 Messy as Fuck

  • 2016-10-17T02:30:00Z — 29 mins

After the unexpected events of the previous night, Issa tries to decide what to do about Lawrence, while sticking to her plan to embrace a bolder side of herself. Molly treats herself to a “fancy day” and goes on a promising date. Lawrence gets advice from an unexpected source.

1x03 Racist as Fuck

  • 2016-10-24T02:30:00Z — 30 mins

Issa and Lawrence try to move past their issues at home, as she deals with her colleagues’ doubts and he gets a reality check from a head hunter. Molly introduces Jared to her friends, and later struggles to give words of wisdom to a new summer associate at work.

1x04 Thirsty as Fuck

  • 2016-10-31T02:30:00Z — 29 mins

Although things are better than ever with Lawrence, Issa turns to Daniel for help during Career Day. Molly finds herself in a tough position when a partner asks her to give Rasheeda a talking-to. Facing disappointment at his new job, Lawrence bonds with a surprising confidante.

1x05 Shady as Fuck

  • 2016-11-07T03:30:00Z — 30 mins

Issa is mortified when a video of her profanity-laced rap at an open-mike night goes viral.

1x06 Guilty as Fuck

  • 2016-11-14T03:30:00Z — 28 mins

Issa tries to hide her guilt from Lawrence, who reiterates his love for her. Meanwhile, Molly dives into a new romance, but has second thoughts about the future after learning unsavory details about her new boyfriend's past.

1x07 Real as Fuck

  • 2016-11-21T03:30:00Z — 30 mins

Issa preps for a fund-raiser, but has trouble staying focused. Meanwhile, Lawrence mulls a job opportunity; and Molly learns something new from an old friend.

1x08 Broken as Fuck

  • 2016-11-28T03:30:00Z — 33 mins

Molly and Issa's trip could be undone by lingering tension between them; and Lawrence catches up with his friends.