• 77%
    3 votes
  • Rate this season
    What did you think?
  • 2.1k
  • 28.1k
  • 62.2k

Man vs. Wild

Season 4 2009 - 2010

  • 2009-08-13T10:00:00+08:00 on Discovery
  • 45 mins
  • 9 hours, 49 mins
  • United States
  • English
  • Documentary

MAN VS. WILD brings seasoned adventurer Bear Grylls face to face with the grueling task of navigating remote locations, sharing invaluable survival strategies along the way.

14 episodes

4x01 Arctic Circle

  • Season Premiere

    2009-08-13T10:00:00+08:00 — 41 mins

Grylls goes to the Arctic Circle, where he encounters a frozen waterfall, wild reindeer and some of the coldest conditions on the planet.

4x02 Alabama

  • 2009-08-20T10:00:00+08:00 — 43 mins

Grylls wrestles a pig, squeezes through some tight spots, and survives a forest fire in the swamps of Alabama. It is revealed that Grylls broke his shoulder while in Antarctica two months previously.

4x03 Vietnam

  • 2009-08-27T10:00:00+08:00 — 41 mins

Grylls demonstrates what it was like for soldiers who had to survive in the jungles of Vietnam, during the Vietnam War.

4x04 Texas

  • 2009-09-03T10:00:00+08:00 — 43 mins

In Western Texas, Grylls falls to earth from an upturned biplane into the parched Chihuahuan Desert; he traverses deep gorges, locates an oasis and takes on a diamond back rattlesnake.

4x05 Alaska

  • 2009-09-10T10:00:00+08:00 — 41 mins

Grylls returns to the wilderness of Alaska to survive the dangerous terrain of the Last Frontier.

In his ultimate survival guide Grylls takes on dangerous snakes, fishes for catfish using his finger as bait and joins tribes who survive in the worlds toughest terrains, eats raw goats testicles in the Sahara, and hunts porcupines.

4x07 The Inside Story

  • 2009-09-24T10:00:00+08:00 — 43 mins

The Man vs. Wild crew who follow Grylls on his travels across the globe, tell how it feels to follow in his footsteps and reveal just how they make Man vs. Wild.

4x08 Pacific Island

  • 2010-01-07T11:00:00+08:00 — 43 mins

Grylls is on a deserted Panamanian island; he creates fresh water and chooses to use tribal fishing techniques before battling the sea on a makeshift raft. Later in the episode he gives himself an enema in order to stay hydrated on the open seas.

4x09 China

  • 2010-01-14T11:00:00+08:00 — 43 mins

In Southern China Grylls arrives in the aftermath of a tropical typhoon. He tackles swollen rivers, scales slippery limestone faces, avoids disaster with stinging ants, and utilizes ancient tribal techniques to catch bats for food.

4x10 Big Sky Country

  • 2010-01-21T11:00:00+08:00 — 43 mins

Grylls takes on Big Sky Country. He paraglides above the Rockies, traverses vast gullies, and makes the most of abandoned debris before making his great escape on a moving train.

4x11 Guatemala

  • 2010-01-28T11:00:00+08:00 — 41 mins

Grylls rappels onto a live volcano in Guatemala, navigates a waterfall in an underground cave, creates a nest to safely sleep in but gets an unwelcome bed buddy, and encounters ancient Mayan ruins.

4x12 Urban Survivor

  • 2010-02-04T11:00:00+08:00 — 42 mins

Grylls is in a post-disaster urban city scenario and he must survive. His thirst to live and survival techniques modified for a city environment keep him alive in a concrete wasteland in Gdynia, Poland.

4x13 Shooting Survival

  • 2010-02-11T11:00:00+08:00 — 41 mins

Behind the scenes with Grylls's crew.

4x14 North Africa

  • 2010-02-18T11:00:00+08:00 — 41 mins

Grylls crosses the Sahara desert to the North Africa coast, where he catches an octopus, fashions a shelter out of acacia trees and dines on moths and locusts.