• 85%
    25 votes
  • Rate this season
    What did you think?
  • 6.8k
  • 39.8k
  • 27.7k
  • 6


Season 1 2009

  • 2009-11-09T21:00:00+00:00 on BBC One
  • 30 mins
  • 2 hours, 53 mins (6 episodes)
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • Comedy

Miranda finds it impossible to stand up to her eccentric mother Penny who makes embarrassing and desperate attempts to marry her off. Her rivalry with boarding school chum and PR Sloane Tilly gets her in to all sorts of trouble as she can’t help but lie to impress her; and worst of all her hapless pursuits of long-term crush Gary means she always ends up flat on her face-- literally in most cases. All her old friend Stevie does is stand back, laugh and unhelpfully point out where she is going wrong.

6 episodes

1x01 Date

  • Series Premiere

    2009-11-09T21:00:00+00:00 — 29 mins

Miranda gets overexcited by the prospect of her first real date and decides it's time to try to be more girly, but her makeover doesn't go quite to plan.

1x02 Teacher

  • 2009-11-16T21:00:00+00:00 — 29 mins

Miranda takes A French class and Tango lessons so Gary willl see her in a sexual light. Things don't quite go to plan.

1x03 Job

  • 2009-11-23T21:00:00+00:00 — 29 mins

Miranda's mother is ashamed of her joke shop job, so Miranda decides to find a new career.

1x04 Holiday

  • 2009-11-30T21:00:00+00:00 — 29 mins

Being young, free and single has its advantages, like jetting off to Thailand on holiday for a few days. Miranda however, sets her Holiday sights lower.

1x05 Excuse

  • 2009-12-07T21:00:00+00:00 — 28 mins

An old school insists on throwing Miranda a party to introduce her to a suitable man. Miranda is notoriously bad at coming up with excuses, but when she sees a photo of her intended date he's so bad that the only option left is to lie and come out to her mother.

1x06 Dog

  • 2009-12-14T21:00:00+00:00 — 29 mins

When a handsome guy leaves his wallet in the shop, Miranda and Stevie argue over who he'd prefer to take to dinner if he had to choose one of them. Meanwhile, Miranda is invited to a Regatta and is determined to be able to cope at a tricky social occasion just once.