• 0%
    0 votes
  • Rate this show
    What did you think?
  • 36
  • 137
  • 142
  • 33

Mother Love

All Episodes

Hide ads with
  • Ended
  • BBC One
  • 1989-10-19T23:00:00Z
  • 55 mins
  • 5 hours, 30 mins (6 episodes)
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • Drama
Hide ads with
A British yuppie couple have a presumably idyllic existence. Yet there is one troubling factor in their lives - an eccentric, and possibly, difficult mother-in-law. Her odd behavior is confirmed in a series of incidents involving her ex-husband, a concert musician, and her ex-husband's new wife, an artist. Flashbacks reveal bits of her troubled past. Little by little, the young couple's life begins to fall apart and the mother-in-law begins to act out her feelings of intense jealousy in the form of revenge, implicating a dear old friend, and leading to murder.
Hide ads with
Hide ads with

10 episodes

Special 1 Part 1

  • no air date — 55 mins

Special 2 Part 2

  • no air date — 55 mins

Special 3 Part 3

  • no air date — 55 mins

documentary with interviews of The Making of Mother Love

1x01 Episode 1

  • Series Premiere

    1989-10-19T23:00:00Z — 55 mins

Domineering child Helena Vesey plans a lethal revenge on her childhood friend Maureen. As an adult Helena is excessively protective of her only child, Kit. When he informs her that that he is going to marry Angela, Helena feels abandoned. Having divorced her husband Alex soon after the birth of her son, Helena has believed for years that there has been no communication between Kit and Alex. However, Kit has maintained contact and is very close to his father, his step-mother and their children. When Alex helps Kit and Angela buy a flat, telling Helena proves rather difficult. News of Alex's Knighthood does nothing to quell her bitterness.

1x02 Episode 2

  • 1989-11-05T00:00:00Z — 55 mins

Ruth receives great media interest following a photographic exhibition and Helena is exceptionally jealous. When a documentary is made about Ruth's life, Helena discovers George's duplicity and orchestrates a suitable punishment.

1x03 Episode 3

  • 1989-11-12T00:00:00Z — 55 mins

AIRED: 11/12/89 There is an investigation into Ruth's death. George is devastated to learn he is to blame but remains adamant that it was not his fault. Angela wants to tell Helena about Kit's relationship with his father before she learns the truth from Laura. Alex becomes involved with a young American film actress. When he marries her, Helena sets her sights on destroying their happiness. Kit feels unwell and a visit to the doctor reveals some disturbing news.

1x04 Episode 4

  • 1989-11-19T00:00:00Z — 55 mins

Helena moves in with Angela while Kit is recovering in hospital. When Helena discovers Angela has been in contact with Alex, she feels betrayed. Helena bakes some lethal biscuits for Alex's picnic but they are not consumed by the person they are meant for. Kit's deception is exposed with dire consequences.

2x01 Part 1 of 2

  • Season Premiere

    2020-12-22T00:00:00Z — 55 mins

Wedding bells sound for Kit and Angela. But Kit's mother's hatred for his father, her estranged husband Alex, threatens their happiness. Adapted by Andrew Davies for TV from Domini Taylor's novel.

2x02 Part 2 of 2

  • 2020-12-23T00:00:00Z — 55 mins

Furious that Alex has moved on after the death of his new wife, how will Helena deal with the next betrayal? Conclusion of Andrew Davies's drama, adapted for TV from Domini Taylor's novel.

Hide ads with
Hide ads with