• 0%
    0 votes
  • Rate this season
    What did you think?
  • 1
  • 5
  • 3


Season 1 1999

  • 1999-11-21T05:00:00+00:00 on BBC Two
  • 60 mins
  • 6 hours, 0 mins
  • Documentary

In this six-part series Andrew Graham-Dixon explores the history of art in the Italian Renaissance.

6 episodes

1x01 Body and Soul

  • Series Premiere

    1999-11-21T05:00:00+00:00 — 60 mins

Andrew Graham-Dixon embarks on a quest to find the origins of the Renaissance. His journey takes him to Macedonia, the Low Countries and Venice, revealing a complex tapestry of influences along the way - and leading him to conclude that Western civilisation owes a huge debt to the legacy of the East.

1x02 The Pure Radiance of the Past

  • 1999-11-28T05:00:00+00:00 — 60 mins

Andrew Graham-Dixon examines Florence's claim to be the cradle of the Renaissance.

1x03 Journey of the Magus

  • 1999-12-05T05:00:00+00:00 — 60 mins

Andrew Graham-Dixon explores the 15th century princely courts of Italy.

1x04 Apocalypse

  • 1999-12-12T05:00:00+00:00 — 60 mins

Andrew Graham-Dixon examines the millennial anxiety of 1499.

1x05 Light and Liberty

  • 1999-12-19T05:00:00+00:00 — 60 mins

Andrew Graham-Dixon visits Venice, home to great painters of light and colour.

1x06 The End of the Renaissance?

  • 1999-12-23T05:00:00+00:00 — 60 mins

Andrew Graham-Dixon concludes the series by asking how the Renaissance came to an end.