• 82%
    29 votes
  • Rate this show
    What did you think?
  • 742
  • 6.1k
  • 6.5k
  • 373

Secrets of Great British Castles

All Episodes 2015 - 2016

  • Ended
  • Channel 5 (UK)
  • 2015-04-03T21:00:00+02:00
  • 45 mins
  • 9 hours, 0 mins
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • Documentary
Dan Jones introduces Secrets of Great British Castles - a series exploring the fascinating history of six of the nation's most significant fortified buildings.

12 episodes

1x01 Dover Castle

  • Series Premiere

    2015-04-03T21:00:00+02:00 — 45 mins

Dan goes behind the battlements of Dover Castle, where he descends into an underground lair to discover how a vast network of tunnels has been used to defend both the castle and the country for centuries.

1x02 Tower of London

  • 2015-04-10T21:00:00+02:00 — 45 mins

Built by William the Conqueror, the Tower of London has been a military fortress, a palace, a royal mint, a prison, a zoo and a place of execution, a silent witness to some of the most momentous events in our history. Dan Jones reveals some of its secrets and tells the stories of the traitors, rebels and royalty who met their end inside its imposing walls.

1x03 Warwick Castle

  • 2015-04-17T21:00:00+02:00 — 45 mins

Today Warwick Castle is a popular tourist attraction, but for centuries its walls echoed with the sounds of betrayal, bloodshed, murder and financial ruin. Dan Jones reveals the turbulent history which took place within the well-preserved walls of this imposing castle and the tales of the earls of Warwick who lived there.

1x04 Caernarfon Castle

  • 2015-04-24T21:00:00+02:00 — 45 mins

Historian Dan Jones explores the turbulent history of one of Britain's most famous castles, Caernarfon. Dan is in the heart of Snowdonia exploring a stronghold built not only as an impenetrable fortress but also as a lavish royal palace fit for a fairytale - Caernarfon Castle.

1x05 Stirling Castle

  • 2015-05-01T21:00:00+02:00 — 45 mins

Perched high on a volcanic crag overlooking the River Forth, Stirling has long been one of the most strategically important castles in Britain. Guarding the gateway to the Highlands, its battle-scarred walls have witnessed savagery and chivalry, intrigue, alchemy, adultery and murder. With the aid of location filming, aerial shots and dramatic reconstructions, Dan Jones examines the history of this stronghold and relates the stories of some of the powerful characters who have owned it over the centuries.

1x06 Carrickfergus Castle

  • 2015-05-08T21:00:00+02:00 — 45 mins

Carrickfergus, known locally and colloquially as "Carrick", is a large town in County Antrim, Northern Ireland. It is located on the north shore of Belfast Lough, 11 miles from Belfast. Dan Jones explores the history of Carrickfergus Castle in Co Antrim, one of the most ancient castles in Northern Ireland and a stronghold key to understanding the tempestuous relationship between Britain and Ireland. Dan travels to Rathlin island, where he reveals how hundreds of women and children were massacred in the name of Elizabeth I, and visits the tomb of former governor Arthur Chichester, who began a new colonisation strategy using scorched earth tactics and laid waste to much of the land surrounding the town

2x01 Edinburgh Castle

  • Season Premiere

    2016-10-28T21:00:00+02:00 — 45 mins

Edinburgh's handsome hilltop bastion is Scotland's most popular paid tourist attraction, but it also packs some formidable defences.

2x02 Cardiff Castle

  • 2016-11-04T21:00:00+01:00 — 45 mins

Dan Jones explores the history of the Welsh capital's landmark, Cardiff Castle, and discovers more about the various incarnations over the centuries.

2x03 York Castle

  • 2016-11-18T21:00:00+01:00 — 45 mins

Part-dramatised history series. In medieval England, the North was ruled from York. Dan Jones explores the history of its castle, from the Viking Jorvik and the Normans, through the dark days of the anti-Jewish pogrom and the imprisonment of the Knights Templar, to one of its most colourful inmates - the legendary highwayman Dick Turpin.

2x04 Leeds Castle

  • 2016-11-25T21:00:00+01:00 — 45 mins

History series. With the aid of dramatic reconstruction, Dan Jones explores the 900-year history of the beautiful Leeds Castle in Kent, from its origins as a royal Saxon family's manor and Norman stronghold to the private property of six medieval queens, a Tudor palace, a Jacobean country house, a Georgian mansion and an elegant 20th-century retreat for the rich and famous.

2x05 Lancaster Castle

  • 2016-12-02T21:00:00+01:00 — 45 mins

History series. Dan Jones visits Lancaster Castle to explore its grisly history of crime and punishment, including the infamous Lancashire Witches trials and the martyrdom of the Jesuit priest Saint Edmund Arrowsmith.

2x06 Arundel Castle

  • 2016-12-09T21:00:00+01:00 — 45 mins

History series. Dan Jones visits the heart of the English countryside to explore Arundel Castle and the dramatic history of the Earls of Arundel.