• 70%
    1 vote
  • Rate this episode
    What did you think?
  • 118
  • 158
  • 3.2k

Series Premiere

Seven Ages of Britain: Season 1

1x01 Age of Conquest

  • 2010-01-31T21:00:00Z on BBC One
  • 60 mins
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • Documentary

David Dimbleby tells the story of Britain through its art and treasure. This, the first episode, begins with the Roman invasion and ends with the Norman Conquest. David travels throughout Britain in search of the greatest works of art from the time: the mosaics of Bignor Roman Villa, the burial treasure of Sutton Hoo, Anglo-Saxon poetry and Alfred the Great's Jewel. He also goes abroad, throughout Europe, to find objects either made in Britain, or which tell us something about our past.