• 70%
    1 vote
  • Rate this show
    What did you think?
  • 18
  • 30
  • 198
  • 22

Seven Ages Of Starlight

All Episodes 2012

  • Ended
  • BBC Four
  • 2012-10-25T07:00:00Z
  • 90 mins
  • 1 hour, 30 mins
  • United Kingdom
  • Documentary
This is the epic story of the stars, and how discovering their tale has transformed our own understanding of the universe. Once we thought the sun and stars were gods and giants. Now we know, in a way, our instincts were right. The stars do all have their own characters, histories and role in the cosmos. Not least, they played a vital part in creating us. There are old, bloated red giants, capable of gobbling up planets in their orbit; explosive deaths - supernovae - that forge the building blocks of life; and black holes, the most mysterious stellar tombstones. And, of course, stars in their prime, like our own sun. Leading astronomers reveal how the grandest drama on tonight is the one playing above our heads. tt6946738 too.

2 episodes

1x01 Seven Ages of Starlight - Part 1

  • Series Premiere

    2012-10-24T23:00:00Z — 90 mins

Modern astronomy has revealed that stars experience a life-cycle, which begins with birth in a cloud of hydrogen, and ends as the star becomes a burnt out cinder called a White Dwarf.

In this episode of Seven Ages of Starlight, the epic story of the stars continues with an examination of the final stages in the life-cycle of stars. From the fourth age of their cycle, the White Dwarf, to their spectacular death throes, the supernovae.And, of course, black holes, thought to be the most mysterious objects in space.