• 0%
    0 votes
  • Rate this season
    What did you think?

    Softly Softly

    Season 7 1971 - 1972

    • 1971-10-05T23:00:00Z on BBC One
    • 50 mins
    • 21 hours, 40 mins
    • United Kingdom
    • English

    Further cases of detectives Barlow and Watt. For the first 69 episodes (in b&w) the show was known as Softly Softly, the title then changed in 1969 to Softly Softly - Task Force (for a further 131 episodes in colour) and Barlow left to take up his own series Barlow at Large. Softly Softly followed the boys in blue as they kept the peace in up in the fictional Wyvern region. Detective Chief Superintendent Barlow (Stratford Johns) and DCI Watt (Frank Windsor) continued their nice and nasty cop routine to good effect.

    Renamed to Softly Softly - Task Force with a longer monicker in 1969, Softly Softly moved its focus to Thamesford Constabulary's CID Task Force. Characters like Constable Snow, the miserable dog handler, and the always cheerful Welshman Sargeant Evans came along too.

    26 episodes

    7x01 Once Bitten

    • Season Premiere

      1971-10-05T23:00:00Z — 50 mins

    7x02 Hostage

    • 1971-10-12T23:00:00Z — 50 mins

    7x04 Aberration

    • 1971-10-26T23:00:00Z — 50 mins

    7x05 Moving On

    • 1971-11-03T00:00:00Z — 50 mins

    7x06 An Inside Job

    • 1971-11-10T00:00:00Z — 50 mins

    A supermarket has been robbed and £4,000 stolen. It looks an easy case, and Barlow proceeds to solve it to his own satisfaction. Harry Hawkins isn't so certain.

    7x08 Marksman

    • 1971-11-24T00:00:00Z — 50 mins

    7x14 Priorities

    • 1972-01-05T00:00:00Z — 50 mins

    7x15 Resolution

    • 1972-01-12T00:00:00Z — 50 mins

    7x18 Flight

    • 1972-02-02T00:00:00Z — 50 mins

    7x26 Conclusion

    • 1972-03-28T23:00:00Z — 50 mins