• 100%
    1 vote
  • Rate this show
    What did you think?
  • 26
  • 239
  • 383
  • 22

Talking Heads

All Episodes 1982 - 1998

  • Ended
  • BBC One
  • 1988-04-19T07:00:00+08:00
  • 30 mins
  • 6 hours, 0 mins
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • Drama, Comedy
A series of dramatic monologues written for BBC television by the acclaimed British playwright Alan Bennett.

16 episodes

Special 1 A Woman of No Importance

  • 1982-11-19T08:00:00+08:00 — 30 mins

A middle-aged woman contemplates her life after she is admitted to hospital.

Special 2 Series 1 Omnibus Version

  • no air date — 30 mins

Combined omnibus version of all episodes from series 1 from BBC DVD release.

Special 3 Series 2 Omnibus Version

  • no air date — 30 mins

Combined omnibus version of all episodes from series 2 from BBC DVD release.

Special 4 Telling Tales

  • no air date — 30 mins

A series of short stories, about 10 minutes each, often both funny and poignant told by the writer about his growing-up in Leeds in WWII and after.

1x01 A Chip in the Sugar

  • Series Premiere

    1988-04-19T07:00:00+08:00 — 30 mins

Graham is a middle-aged man with a history of mild mental health problems, living with his mother in Leeds.

1x02 A Lady of Letters

  • 1988-04-26T07:00:00+08:00 — 30 mins

Irene Ruddock is not afraid to speak, or rather write, her mind: she writes letters to her MP, the police, the chemist - everyone she can, to remedy the social ills she sees around her.

1x03 Bed Among the Lentils

  • 1988-05-03T07:00:00+08:00 — 30 mins

Susan, an alcoholic, nervous vicar's wife, distracts herself from her ambitious, and, as she sees him, vainly insensitive husband and his doting parishioners by conducting an affair with a nearby grocer, Ramesh Ramesh, discovering something about herself and God in the process.

1x04 Soldiering On

  • 1988-05-10T07:00:00+08:00 — 30 mins

Muriel is a strong woman, and always has been — a pillar of the community, a regular charity worker, and a volunteer for Meals on Wheels; and looking after her mentally ill daughter, Margaret, has fortified her resolve — so, after the death of her husband, Muriel is well-prepared to cope with the crisis.

1x05 Her Big Chance

  • 1988-05-17T07:00:00+08:00 — 30 mins

Lesley is an aspiring actress, who, after a series of unpromising extra roles on television programmes such as Crossroads, finds what she believes to be her big break as the adventurous Travis in a new film for the West German market.

1x06 A Cream Cracker under the Settee

  • 1988-05-24T07:00:00+08:00 — 30 mins

Doris, aged seventy-five, is a tidy woman — and when she suffers a fall after trying to clear up after her considerably less thorough home help, Zulema, it becomes apparent that her constant nagging may have been responsible for her husband's early death.

2x01 Miss Fozzard Finds Her Feet

  • Season Premiere

    1998-10-06T07:00:00+08:00 — 30 mins

Miss Fozzard is a lonely, middle-aged department store clerk in the Soft Furnishings Department whose free time is mostly spent caring for her brother after he suffers a stroke.

2x02 The Hand of God

  • 1998-10-13T07:00:00+08:00 — 30 mins

Celia is a covetous antiques dealer who brazenly aids elderly neighbours for the sole purpose of being in a good position to buy their treasures on the cheap when they die.

2x03 Playing Sandwiches

  • 1998-10-20T07:00:00+08:00 — 30 mins

Wilfred is, we discover over time, a reformed paedophile living under a false identity and working as a much-praised maintenance man in a public park.

2x04 The Outside Dog

  • 1998-10-27T08:00:00+08:00 — 30 mins

Clean freak Marjory gradually comes to realise that her partner, who works in a slaughterhouse, is using his employment to cover the fact that he's a particularly evil criminal.

2x05 Nights in the Gardens of Spain

  • 1998-11-03T08:00:00+08:00 — 30 mins

Rosemary is a lonely woman who takes it upon herself to tend to a female neighbour's garden after the latter is arrested for murdering her abusive husband.

2x06 Waiting for the Telegram

  • 1998-11-11T08:00:00+08:00 — 30 mins

Violet is a confused, elderly woman in a nursing home who has been told by the excited staff she will soon be receiving a congratulatory telegram from the Queen in honour of her one hundredth birthday.