• 70%
    1 vote
  • Rate this show
    What did you think?
  • 6
  • 74
  • 1.8k
  • 22

The Pickwick Papers 1985

  • Ended
  • BBC One
  • 1985-01-06T05:00:00Z
  • 30 mins
  • 5 hours, 47 mins
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • Comedy, Drama

The Posthumous Papers of the Pickwick Club (also known as The Pickwick Papers) is the first novel by Charles Dickens. Written for publication as a serial, The Pickwick Papers is a sequence of loosely-related adventures. The action is given as occurring 1827–8, though critics have noted some seeming anachronisms. The novel's main character, Mr Samuel Pickwick, Esquire, is a kind and wealthy old gentleman, and the founder and perpetual president of the Pickwick Club. To extend his researches into the quaint and curious phenomena of life, he suggests that he and three other "Pickwickians" (Mr Nathaniel Winkle, Mr Augustus Snodgrass, and Mr Tracy Tupman) should make journeys to remote places from London and report on their findings to the members of the club.


1 season

If you like The Pickwick Papers, check out...