• 71%
    61 votes
  • Rate this season
    What did you think?
  • 26.4k
  • 285k
  • 641k
  • 63

Torchwood: Season 4

Miracle Day 2011

  • 2011-07-08T21:00:00+01:00 on BBC One
  • 45 mins
  • 9 hours, 9 mins (10 episodes)
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • Drama, Action, Adventure, Science Fiction, Fantasy

One day, nobody dies. All across the world, nobody dies. And then the next day, and the next, and the next, people keep ageing - they get hurt and sick - but they never die. The result: a population boom, overnight. With all the extra people, resources are finite. It’s said that in four month's time, the human race will cease to be viable. But this can’t be a natural event – someone’s got to be behind it. It’s a race against time as CIA agent Rex Matheson investigates a global conspiracy. The answers lie within an old, secret British institute. As Rex keeps asking “What is Torchwood?” he’s drawn into a world of adventure, and a threat to change what it means to be human, forever.


10 episodes

4x01 The New World

  • Season Premiere

    2011-07-08T21:00:00+01:00 — 54 mins

Convicted child killer Oswald Danes is executed for his crimes and when he miraculously survives his fate a series of events is set in place that forces CIA Agent Rex Matheson to investigate a global event. His investigation leads him from America to Wales and an old defunct British Institute - Torchwood.

4x02 Rendition

  • 2011-07-15T21:00:00+01:00 — 54 mins

As the Torchwood team is reunited, Jack realizes he's the most vulnerable man on Earth. A flight to the United States turns into a desperate battle for survival.

4x03 Dead of Night

  • 2011-07-22T21:00:00+01:00 — 55 mins

Torchwood goes on the run and finds a new enemy, but as they launch a raid on PhiCorp headquarters, Jack must confront the mysterious Oswald Danes.

4x04 Escape to L.A.

  • 2011-07-29T21:00:00+01:00 — 57 mins

Torchwood relocates to LA to sneak into PhiCorp's headquarters to find some useful information, unaware that their mission has been compromised. Elsewhere, Oswald and Jilly face a new adversary in Ellis Hartley Monroe, who is using the Miracle Day for her own agenda.

4x05 The Categories of Life

  • 2011-08-05T21:00:00+01:00 — 54 mins

Torchwood goes undercover and discovers the terrible truth behind the Miracle. The enemy is closing in, and death is about to make a shocking return.

4x06 The Middle Men

  • 2011-08-12T21:00:00+01:00 — 54 mins

With Gwen, Rex and Esther trapped on both sides of the Atlantic, it's a race against time as Jack goes straight to the heart of the conspiracy.

4x07 Immortal Sins

  • 2011-08-19T21:00:00+01:00 — 54 mins

Gwen must fight to protect her family and takes a terrifying journey, covering both miles and decades, as the long history of the Miracle is revealed.

4x08 End of the Road

  • 2011-08-26T21:00:00+01:00 — 55 mins

Jack faces a showdown with a man he thought was long since dead, while Rex takes extreme action to prevent the collapse of society.

4x09 The Gathering

  • 2011-09-02T21:00:00+01:00 — 56 mins

With the whole world in recession, a defeated Torchwood team take their last chance and make a deal with the devil.

4x10 The Blood Line

  • 2011-09-09T21:00:00+01:00 — 56 mins

As the Torchwood team launch a final, desperate mission against the seemingly undefeatable Three Families, they realize it may come down to the ultimate sacrifice.