• 92%
    5 votes
  • Rate this show
    What did you think?
  • 66
  • 198
  • 128
  • 35

Don't Call Me Crazy

All Episodes 2013

  • 2019-01-21T21:00:00+00:00s at 2019-01-21T21:00:00+00:00 on BBC Three
  • 2013-06-24T22:00:00+02:00
  • 57 mins
  • 2 hours, 51 mins
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • Documentary
More than half a million young people across the UK are being treated for some kind of mental illness, and over 3,500 teenagers passed through inpatient units like this last year. This series offers a chance for young patients to tell us what it’s really like to live with mental health issues - through the good times and the bad - and dispel the myths, preconceptions and taboos of mental illness. While some of the young patients agree to stay voluntarily undergoing treatment here, others have been detained against their wishes, sectioned under the Mental Health Act. Filmed over the course of a year and with unparalleled access, this series follows teenage girls and boys at the unit as they battle to turn their lives around.

3 episodes

1x01 Episode 1

  • Series Premiere

    2013-06-24T22:00:00+02:00 — 57 mins

Beth has recently arrived at the McGuinness Unit and loves dancing and gymnastics. Appearances can be deceptive though as Beth is suffering with depression, self-harms and has an eating disorder. The staff are forced to take drastic action as her relationship with food gets worse.

1x02 Episode 2

  • 2013-07-01T22:00:00+02:00 — 57 mins

Crystal has been admitted to the unit because she sees animals and people that nobody sees. Her parents want to know if her condition can be diagnosed. The show also catches up with Beth.

1x03 Episode 3

  • 2013-07-08T22:00:00+02:00 — 57 mins

Sixteen year old rugby champion George had a promising future ahead of him before he had a breakdown. Beth continues to make progress but also has some setbacks. Matty, who's 17 has voices in his head telling him to kill himself on his 18th birthday.