• 0%
    0 votes
  • Rate this show
    What did you think?
  • 19
  • 237
  • 924
  • 8

The Dustbinmen

All Episodes

  • Ended
  • ITV
  • 1969-09-23T00:00:00Z
  • 30 mins
  • 10 hours, 0 mins
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • Comedy
Cheese And Egg is the leader of a gang of work-shy refuse collectors who operate a council dustcart (garbage truck) they call "Thunderbird 3." He's in charge of Smellie Ibbotson, Heavy Breathing (so named because he believes he had a way with women), Eric and Winston (an ardent Manchester City supporter). The inspector from the Corporation Cleansing Department, whom they nickname Bloody Delilah, is their sworn enemy. The foul-mouthed, beret wearing "Cheese and Egg” (so nicknamed because CE are his initials) is respected by the others for his brains. Together, the dustbinmen flout every rule, shirk work whenever possible and discuss (usually disparagingly) local residents by their address or some other recognizable feature.

22 episodes

Special 2 Christmas Special

  • 1970-12-24T23:00:00Z — 30 mins

All Star Comedy Carnival mini episode from Christmas 1969.

1x01 Episode One

  • Series Premiere

    1969-09-22T23:00:00Z — 30 mins

Depot Inspector, Bloody Delilah, is having trouble with his team of binmen. No bins are being emptied as they've gone off to Blackpool for the day.

1x02 Episode Two

  • 1969-09-29T23:00:00Z — 30 mins

The Depot elections are being held to decide on t new committee and when Bloody Delilah finds out about the various "fiddles" perpetrated by his dustbinmen, he decides to make sure that Cheese and Egg does not once again have control of the committee.

1x03 Episode Three

  • 1969-10-06T23:00:00Z — 30 mins

Winston's girlfriend Naomi, whose ambition is to get him th the alter, isn't too pleased when Winston decides to go to the City match on the afternoon he's supposed to marry her.

1x04 Episode Four

  • 1969-10-13T23:00:00Z — 30 mins

Cheese and Egg decides he has had enough, so he gives his notice in. While he's in Blackpool working out his notice Bloody Delilah takes over his position as head of the gang, much to their disgust.

1x05 Episode Five

  • 1969-10-20T23:00:00Z — 30 mins

When a thick fog descends, Cheese and Egg and his gang are marooned at the depot with their inspector. They decide to sleep in the canteen and have to try and live together for one night.

1x06 Episode Six

  • 1969-10-27T23:00:00Z — 30 mins

Heavy Breathing decides he needs a rest from his women admirers so gets transferred to another gang, but when he meets Mrs. Green Gables and she doesn't fall for him but fancies Eric instead, his world is shattered.

2x01 Episode One

  • Season Premiere

    1970-03-23T23:00:00Z — 30 mins

Delilah has to leave the depot for a day and leaves Cheese 'n' Egg in charge -- but power goes to his head.

3x01 Episode One

  • Season Premiere

    1970-07-19T23:00:00Z — 30 mins