• 0%
    0 votes
  • Rate this season
    What did you think?
  • 6
  • 12
  • 30

Touring Britain

Season 1 2009

  • 2009-02-26T00:00:00-05:00 on BBC Four
  • 50 mins
  • 1 hour, 40 mins
  • Documentary

Cultural historian David Heathcote uses old travel guide books to explore modern Britain

2 episodes

1x01 The Victorian Way

  • Series Premiere

    2009-02-26T00:00:00-05:00 — 50 mins

Cultural historian David Heathcote uses an 1887 Baedeker Guide to explore modern-day Britain, discovering the hidden treasures that were popular with Victorian tourists but are rarely visited today. Beginning in Liverpool, he travels through Wales, Manchester and York, following the advice of his guide book and discovering why it was so influential in creating the independent traveller of today

1x02 The Classic Motorist's Way

  • 2009-03-05T00:00:00-05:00 — 50 mins

David Heathcote uses two of the earliest Shell Guides to explore Britain, a Thirties publication on Dorset and a manual about Cornwall, which was edited by the young John Betjeman. Beginning in the ancient sites of Cerne Abbas and Badbury Rings, he heads to the seaside town of Swanage before following advice to visit Tintagel in bad weather